The microapp security settings were designed to give microapp creators greater control over the distribution of microapps. Admins and Editors are the only user types that can enable the password protection options from the builder's 'Microapp Settings' modal. This article details the following security features:
Security settings do not need to be published
Please note, when modifying the Security settings you are NOT required to publish the changes for them to be active. Public links are not impacted by settings that are modified after the links are generated.
Accessing Microapp Security Settings
- Identify the microapp which requires updates.
- Hover over the microapp and select the three-dot-menu in the corner of the cover image.
- Click Edit. You will be taken to the Tiled Builder.
- Click the gear icon to open the Microapp Settings modal.
- Click Security. You are now on the Microapp Security Settings.
While toggled ON this security feature will prevent public links from being generated. Only users with access to the Tiled account will be able to view the microapp from the Tiled Library. The photos below shows a lock icon beneath the microapp thumbnail, where "Internal Only" has been activated.
Note: Public links generated before this option is turned on and will still be accessible.
Password protection is a feature within Tiled that adds a layer of security to shared microapps, ensuring microapps can only be viewed with a password. Once Password protection is enabled, all shared links generated will require viewers to enter the password generated by the user sharing the microapp. Learn more about how to share a password protected microapp.
Password Protection FAQs
Link expiration means Shared links will expire after the specified duration. The text input only accepts integers and you can specify the duration in Hours, Months or Days.
Public links generated before this option is turned on will still be accessible.