How to Use Tiled to Broadcast Live Sessions

Follow

The Tiled Broadcast feature allows users to directly share a microapp with multiple participants during a live session, allowing the audience to view and engage with the microapp in real time without a separate screen sharing app. Once the broadcast is complete, all audience engagements with the microapp are captured and can be viewed using Tiled engagement analytics.  

To use the Broadcast feature, your Admin must configure and enable it. For more information, see Enabling Broadcasting Functionality for your Company Account

Each user wanting to broadcast their microapp must first create a custom room URL from their user profile page. For more information, see Updating your User Profile

Once configured, editors can broadcast their microapp from within by sharing the generated link with the desired audience. 

Broadcasting a live session

To broadcast a live session from your microapp, you must first launch the microapp from the Tiled Hub in your web browser. If the Broadcast feature has been enabled for your account, the Broadcast button is displayed in the Editor menu at the top of the microapp.

Broadcast-MenuBar.jpg

When you are ready to broadcast, click the Broadcast button to open the Broadcast Session window. 

When you are ready to begin broadcasting your microapp, click Start Live Session

For more information about participants viewing your broadcast, see Viewing a Microapp via Broadcast

Broadcasting from a mobile device

You cannot use the Tiled app to directly broadcast your microapp from a mobile device. To facilitate the broadcast feature, when you press the Broadcast button from the Tiled app, the app opens the microapp in the default web browser for your mobile device and automatically begins broadcasting.

Adding participants to your broadcast

You allow participants to view the broadcast of your microapp by providing them with the web address for the session (for example, https://join.tiled.co/tiled.documentation/test001). You can copy the web address in the following ways:

  • Copy the address before the session begins by clicking the Copy Details button from the Broadcast Session window. 
  • Copy the address after the session has begun by clicking the Icon-Add_Participant.png button in the menu bar and then click the Copy Info button from the displayed Add Participant window. 

    Broadcast-Add_Participant.jpg

Once copied, you can paste the information into an email or message to your desired audience members. 

Creating a private broadcast

You can require users to enter a PIN in order to access the microapp broadcast. From the Broadcast Session window, click the Public toggle button, which changes to Private when selected. Then start the live session as usual. 

You can turn this feature on or off at any time during the broadcast, by clicking the Icon-PresentationConfig.png button to open the Presentation Configuration window.  

Broadcast-Presentation_Configuration.jpg

Then click the Public/Private toggle button to turn on or turn off the private broadcast as needed. 

Note:  If you change the configuration of a live broadcast from Public to Private, any participants engaging with the broadcast will be kicked off and required to enter the PIN to continue. 

In Private mode, the PIN is displayed in the microapp menu bar. Additionally, the PIN is also displayed in the Add Participant window. 

BroadcastMicroApp-Private.jpg

Running a Live Session

When running a microapp session, Tiled indicates that broadcasting is enabled with a blue frame around the main microapp window.

The Broadcast menu displays the viewers who are currently engaging with your microapp broadcast, and each viewer is associated with a color. When viewers engage with the microapp during the broadcast session, a color spot appears in the microapp, identifying the viewer and the element that they interacted with. 

Live_Session_Colors.jpg

From the menu, you can pause the broadcast by clicking the Icon-Pause_Broadcast.png button. Users will see a notification that the session is paused instead of any engagement with the microapp or other windows or screens. When you are ready to resume, click the Icon-Play_Broadcast.png button. 

Additionally the menu indicates how long you have been broadcasting your live session. 

Presentation Configuration window options

Click the Icon-PresentationConfig.png button to open the Presentation Configuration window, which allows you to do the following:

  • Use the Privacy toggle button to change from a public broadcast to a private one (requiring a PIN), or private to public.
  • Use the Presenter Only Mode toggle button to turn off the ability for viewers to engage with the microapp, or to turn it back on. 
  • Use the Mute all Participants toggle button to mute the microphone of all viewers, or to unmute them.   
  • Use the Test Sound button to ensure that you can hear all microapp and viewer interactions. 

Note:  At this stage of the Broadcast feature development, Tiled recommends that users of the feature conduct the audio portion of your live session outside of the microapp (for example, on a conference call). Please contact your company admin for more information about Tiled recommendations. 

Switching between microapps

During a broadcast, you can switch between any microapp in your Tiled library without cancelling your live session. Click the Microapp button on the left side of the Broadcast menu. 

Broadcast-Microapp_button.jpg

Click the dropdown list and select the desired microapp. If more than one format is available, you may select it in the Format to Broadcast section. When finished, click Update

Sharing additional windows or screens

Tiled allows you to share additional screens on your device, just like any other screen sharing application. Click the Icon-Screen_Share.jpg button in the Broadcast menu to display the following window. 

Broadcast-ScreenShare.jpg

Click the drop-down list to select the active window or screen on your device that you allow viewers to see during the live session, and then click Allow. The viewers see the selected screen until you click the close button. 

Note:  If you are using the Safari web browser, you are unable to use this feature. Tiled recommends using a different web browser if this feature is important to your broadcasting experience.

Ending a broadcast

When you are finished broadcasting the microapp live session, click the End button from the menu bar. The viewers of your live session are notified that the broadcast has ended. 

Note: The web address for the microapp live session is static. So, you can use the link for recurring events when you want to reuse the same microapp for those meetings.

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.