Accessibility & Microapps

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 is a formalized set of international standards set forth by W3C to ensure web content is accessible to people with disabilities. The guidelines are organized into 4 principles of accessibility which are detailed on their website; Perceivable, Operable, Understandable and Robust.

This article will address topics of accessibility as it relates to viewing microapps, since building (also known as assembling) microapps falls outside of the WCAG scope.

The accessibility standards laid out by the W3C have been outlined according to the most common internet uses; websites. Microapps are not websites, and their use cases extend beyond the web. That said, building ADA compliant web-technology is an important initiative at Tiled, especially since embedding microapps is becoming more common-place.  Below are a few features that make microapps more accessible and lend themselves to a Level A rating of accessibility:

Accessibility on the web has long been the responsibility of developers. With our no-code tool, accessibility now falls into the hands of the microapp designer.

WCAG Accessibility Evaluation

Every Principal of the WCAG is accompanied by guidelines, which are considered testable success criteria for compliance. There are 3 levels of of Conformance for each Principal. After our internal review we have concluded that Tiled achieves a Level A (minimum level of conformance) for each Principal. 

WCAG Principal Tiled Rating*
Perceivable Level A
Adaptable Level A
Operable Level A
Robust Level A

*Tiled Ratings for WCAG compliance have been assessed after an internal review and have not been been reviewed by a third party compliance organization.

If you have further questions about ADA Compliance and Accessibility please talk to your Customer Success Manager or submit your question on our form.